Join Us for a Summer Book Read!

It was wonderful to gather with friends of all ages last summer to discuss R.J. Palacio's Wonder .  This year we will discuss Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan. Winner of the 2013 Newberry Medal, this stirring novel celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendship.  Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point of view of Ivan himself.  Having spent twenty-seven years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. 

He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle.  Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting.  But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.  In the tradition of Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little , Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create an unforgettable story of friendship, art, and hope.

Plan to join us for this book discussion on Thursday, July 23, from 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. (location TBA).   The One and Only Ivan is suitable for those in 3rd grade and above.  We extend a special invitation to the younger among us to join us for this book discussion.  If you'd like to order a copy of the book, please contact Debra Tangarone , by Thursday, May 21. 

 

 

Share
shadow